Bows Header 1


Auditions for the 2016/17 season production of L’italiana in Algeri (The Italian Girl in Algiers) will be held September 30, October 1 & October 2, 2016. Please send us an email to book your audition or to be added to our Audition Notification List for future opportunities.

Are you a passionate and talented emerging artist in the GTA? MYOpera holds annual auditions for upcoming productions, and if this describes you, please contact us to book an audition!

To book an audition, send us an email stating your preference for the following audition times:

September 30, 2016 – 5:00 – 9:00 pm
October 1, 2016 – 10:00 am – 6:00 pm
October 2, 2016 – 2:00 – 6:00 pm


Isabella – mezzo or contralto
Lindoro – tenor
Taddeo – baritone
Mustafà – bass
Elvira – soprano
Zulma – soprano or mezzo
Haly – tenor or baritone

Things to know before you audition:

  • You should be dedicated to pursuing a career in opera
  • You should have significant training in classical voice (undergraduate or graduate degree in voice performance)
  • While there is no official age restriction on MYOpera’s artists, we aim to provide experience to promising emerging artists, and so the successful candidate will have limited professional (i.e. paid) role experience

What to Prepare

  • 1 Italian aria
  • 2 arias of choice
  • 1 monologue under 2 minutes

If you are unable to prepare arias as requested, please bring comparable art songs as available.


There is no fee to audition.


You are welcome to use the services of Music Director Natasha Fransblow, but you can bring your own accompanist if you choose. The fee to use the accompanist provided is $35.
To book a coaching with Natasha before your audition, send her an email. Coachings are booked independent of your audition at a special rate of $40/hr.

Audition Information Form

Once you’ve emailed us to book your audition time, we’ll respond with a confirmation and send you an Audition Form to fill out. This form must be completed 48 hours before your designated time.

Expected Commitment

MYOpera rehearses on Saturdays and Sundays from February – April  Unless noted below, all cast members must be available between 10:00 am – 4:00 pm on Saturdays and 1:00 – 5:00 pm on Sundays. It is a very condensed timeline, and we require great commitment from all of our singers. MYOpera’s rehearsal and performance dates for 2017 are listed below.

Music Rehearsals

Saturday, February 18
Sunday, February 19
Saturday, February 25
Sunday, February 26

Staging Rehearsals

Saturday, March 4
Sunday, March 5
Wednesday, March 8 (Meet the Artists 5:00 – 10:00 pm)
Saturday, March 11
Sunday, March 12
Saturday, March 18
Sunday, March 19
Saturday, March 25
Sunday, March 26
Saturday, April 1
Sunday, April 2
Saturday, April 8
Sunday, April 9
Saturday, April 15
Saturday, April 22
Sunday, April 23

Tech Week & Shows

Monday, April 24 (5:00 – 10:30 pm)
Tuesday, April 25 (5:00 – 10:30 pm)
Wednesday, April 26 (5:00 – 10:30 pm)
Friday, April 28 (5:00 – 10:30 pm)
Saturday, April 29 (2:30 – 8:00 pm)
Sunday, April 30 (12:00 – 5:30 pm)